Forum Navigation
You need to log in to create posts and topics.

Coordination Analysis

Hello!

I am new to OVITO and new to structure visualization in general.

I have been playing around with the interface and there are few things that I am particularly interested in, and would like some clarity on what/how I should go about it.

The structure I have is a well-mixed bimetallic cluster (2-3 nm) with surface disorder and I am looking extract information on A-A, A-B, B-B and B-A coordination number (CN) at core, surface and average. Cut-off radius I am interested in is 3A.

For clarity of my question, assume A and B as particle type 1 and 2 respectively

1. To calculate the average coordination number, I could just use the coordination analysis with compute property function, where neighbor expression would be (@particletype==1) && (@particletype==1). The output will be the CN per atom of interest. Is there a function to calculate or export these individual CN so that we can calculate the average CN? Also, it seems the above code does not hold true for A-B and B-A CN, which logically it should if I change (@particletype==1) && (@particletype==2) to get A-B or B-A CN unless I am missing something here.
  2. Is there a way to calculate the average coordination numbers for core and surface separately?
  3. From a visualization perspective, could OVITO support visualization of just the core and full cluster separately?

Thanks in advance.

Hi,

welcome to the OVITO community then! Let me try to answer your questions,

1. I think there might be a misunderstanding on how the Compute Property Modifier works. The @-symbol is used within the neighbor expression term, to refer to properties of the central particle i (by prepending the @-symbol to the property name).  To refer to the particle properties of the neighboring atoms use the particle property name but leave out the @-symbol.