Forum Navigation
You need to log in to create posts and topics.

Find Atom ID

Dear All,

I am new to OVITO.

Sorry if the question is too basic.

Please find attached, the corresponding simulation domain.

I want to find the ID of the atoms on the surface of the nanoparticle.

Manual selection is too time-consuming and not precise somehow.

Is there any way to find the ID of the atoms on the surface of the nanoparticle automatically?

Best Regards,

Reza

Uploaded files:
  • np.png

Dear Reza,

the Construct Surface Mesh Modifier has an option "Select particles at the surface" which you can use to select all surface atoms:

https://www.ovito.org/docs/current/particles.modifiers.construct_surface_mesh.php

Then in a next step, you can look up the Particle ID's of the selected atoms, e.g. with a python script modifier:

from ovito.data import *

def modify(frame, data):
   print(data.particles["Particle Identifier"][ data.particles["Selection"]  == 1 ])

or you can use the Filter option in the Data inspector, e.g. by inserting Selection == 1 as filter expression.

https://www.ovito.org/docs/current/data_inspector.php

-Constanze

Dear Constanze,

Thank you so much for your comments.

Since there were lots of other atoms in the simulation box, I have reduced their radius to show the nanoparticle.

Consequently, I can not use the surface mesh since it becomes something like Fig. 1.

Is there any command to remove selected types of atoms from the OVITO without affecting the particle Index of the other atoms?

I have found the "delete selected" modifier but it seems that it deletes all the particles.

I knew that the nanoparticle radius is about 15 Angstrom and it is located in the center of the simulation box.

Therefore, I have used the Filter Option with the following command and it seems that the atoms on the surface are now selected.

ParticleType==1&&sqrt(Position.X^2+Position.Y^2+Position.Z^2)>14

Please see Fig. 2.