Forum Navigation
You need to log in to create posts and topics.

How do ovito computations RUN in PARALLEL on a LINUX system ?

Dear professor Stukowski :

I am a graduate student in Hunan university, Changsha, China.
Thank you very much for your ovito software !
It really is my favorite, the most excellent molecular dynamics simulation post-processing software !
I have a question and a suggestion.
1.  My question
The purpose of using ovito is to apply ovito's algorithm for dynamic post-processing in the lammps script. The specific idea is to write a python program, import ovito's modules, and then launch the python program through the "shell" command of the lammps script to conduct post-processing of dump files. After testing, I found that under Linux system (Ubuntu 18.04 LTS server), python program (which has imported the ovito 's modules) cannot be calculated in parallel, nor can it be calculated in parallel in the way of "ovitos". However, the same program, under windows7 will automatically parallel computing. I have been confirmed by the test time and see the "task manager".
2.  My suggestion
I just want to connect the excellent algorithms in ovito to lammps' computation under Linux. In the post-processing process, the ovito computation part is expected to be parallel computation, and no graphical function is required.So, can you make a Linux tar package, has nothing to do with the graphics function, that is, does not need to install the graphics card.
Thank you very much for your software ! 
Wish you all the best !
Yours Sincerely,
Rui Zhao
May 10, 2020

Dear Rui Zhao,

In response to your question I added a new section to the Python scripting documentation of OVITO. Hopefully you can now find an answer to your question here:

http://www.ovito.org/docs/current/python/introduction/advanced_topics.php#multithreading-settings