Forum Navigation
You need to log in to create posts and topics.

Cannot pick a particle with particle inspector

Hi there.

I'm using both ovito 3.1 and ovito 2.7.1. I found that I cannot pick a particle with the particle inspector.

In ovito 2.7.1, I used "Inspect Particles" under "Utilities". When I put my mouse on a particle and hit the left mouse button, I was told "no particles selected". Similar thing happens in ovito 3.1

I don't know why it's happening. This is my first time encountering this problem. I have an AMD Phenom II x6 1035T CPU, running windows 7. Plus, this PC is a university owned PC so I don't have the admin access.

Hi,

It's the first time a user reports this kind of particle picking problem. In principle, this issue could be caused by a compatibility problem of the OpenGL graphics driver. That's at least the most likely reason, because OVITO needs to read out the graphics buffer to determine which particle is under the mouse cursor. Please select "OpenGL information" from the OVITO Help menu and post the displayed system information here for our reference.

To confirm that the particle picking mechanism is really broken, please check the following: Normally, OVITO 3.1 should display the property values of the particle that is currently under the mouse cursor in the status bar located at the bottom of the main window. Is that function working or not?

You wrote that you haven't encountered this problem before. That means particle picking has worked for you at some point in the past. What has changed since then? Did you switch the computer, or did you install another OVITO version?

Quote from Alexander Stukowski on July 11, 2020, 10:02 am

Hi,